Good Bones Home

We bought our first home together because it has "good bones." Now we're trying to bring them out, one project at a time.

I might be insane… August 3, 2010

Filed under: 13.1/2010,fitness — Stephanie @ 5:12 pm

I just registered to run a half marathon in November.

Why? Well, the short answer is because I like a challenge.

But the long answer is this:
I grew up super involved in competitive sports. From the ages of six to twenty, I was always involved in at least one sports league (softball, soccer, swimming, and field hockey). After my sophomore year of college, I had to quit playing for my college’s softball team. My grades had taken a huge dive due to the amount of time it required and I was suffering from a lot of nagging injuries that just wouldn’t heal. I didn’t realize how much I would miss having that outlet. That challenge of needing to practice and train and seeing results from all of my hard work. After leaving the team I attended a few games, and I sat there and cried, even though I knew leaving the team was the right decision for me.

Six years passed, where I finished college, worked for a while, and then headed off to grad school. The stress of grad school had me wishing even more I had some sort of outlet. Over New Years 2007, during a trip to Miami with six of my girlfriends, someone brought up the idea of doing a sprint triathlon together. I initially mentioned the likelihood of me drowning and brushed it off. But the idea stuck with me, and a few weeks later I ventured into a pool for the first time in years. I think I lasted all of 10 minutes. I slowly started logging miles on the treadmill.  That April I bought a bike and registered for the North East Sprint Triathlon.  And on August 17th, 2008,  I ran a triathlon.

The sense of accomplishment I felt when I crossed the finish line was like nothing else.  I had worked my butt off and I had done it!  I did another race in September 2008 and a third in August 2009.

I lost regular access to a pool when I left grad school in 2009.  Since running a triathlon without regularly training for the swimming part is a recipe for drowning, I announced my triathlon retirement.  I already had another race on my plate and in November 2009 I ran an 8K as part of the Philly Marathon.  I had a great time with that one, and I loved watching all the people who were gearing up to tackle the half or full marathons.  And somehow the idea popped in my head…I wonder if that could be me?  And nine months later, now that I’m through with the time suck that was wedding planning, here I am.  $100 poorer and committed to run 13.1 miles in sixteen weeks.  Holy shit guys, I hope I can do this.

 

One Response to “I might be insane…”

  1. liz2024 Says:

    YOU CAN DO IT!!!


Leave a Reply

